CBD - Dossier

Cannabidiol (CBD) | The herbal super therapeutic agent

Tablet with hemp leaf, hemp seeds and the chemical formula for CBD

CBD - the herbal super therapeutic agent

Cannabidiol is fully in line with the trend. But what exactly is CBD? What effect does it have and can you administer it to your pet? Is CBD oil the same as hemp oil and why are CBD drops so popular? Answers to these questions and many more can be found in our large dossier on our favourite phytocannabinoid.

What is CBD?

Hand mit Handschuhe hält Hanfblatt in der Natur

Figure 1: Industrial hemp from which secondary plant substances such as CBD are extracted

CBD or cannabidiol is, besides THC, the most common secondary plant substance (or phytocannabinoid) of the female cannabis flower. This substance can account for up to 40% of the cannabinoid concentration [1] and is found in both cannabis and marijuana, but in completely different concentrations.

Unlike THC, CBD is not psychoactive [2], which facilitates the marketing and sale of the substance, but also its everyday use and research. Especially in everyday life, the substance is often used because of its therapeutic effect. Like all other cannabinoids, it is mainly found in the plant as an acid. For this reason it is also offered and sold in the form of oil (fatty acids).

Note: CBD is a non-psychoactive phytochemical that provides a high therapeutic benefit and is completely legal.

Why you exactly should try CBD

What does cannabidiol help against and is CBD legal ?

Woman doing yoga pose on island which is in mountain lake
Figure 2: Promoting the inner balance of body & mind is only one of many effects that the application of CBD can have

CBD is advertised, especially on the net, as a miracle weapon against just about every suffering. In fact, it works as a support against a range of everyday ailments and more serious diseases. Its anti-oxidant properties have been scientifically proven, making it particularly effective in reducing inflammation. It has also been shown to have a significant positive effect in the treatment of infantile epilepsy and multiple sclerosis [3].

Other positive experiences indicate a beneficial effect on sleep disorders, inner restlessness, anxiety and tension, menstrual problems, chronic pain, sore muscles and arthritis. However, more research is needed to confirm these effects scientifically. Fortunately, studies with CBD are not as problematic as those with the intoxicating cannabinoid THC, because the former is not psychotropic - it does not make you high - and is therefore safe for everyday use. However, for safe use, it is important to make sure that the THC content of all products is below 0.2%.

Note: CBD helps in many ways, both in mental and physical conditions. It is completely legal, because it does not have an intoxicating effect when used. CBD is therefore neither dangerous nor a drug.

How does CBD work ?

CBD interacts in a supportive way with the cannabinoid receptors CB1 and CB2, which occur naturally in the human body. These receptors normally mediate the functions that control the nerve cells in the brain as well as pain inhibition. In addition, increased activity reduces addictive behaviour and affects the appetite. The activation of the CB2 receptor is also associated with a positive effect on the course of Alzheimer's disease. A positive correlation with cancer is not scientifically known, but many cancer patients also report pain relief.

Note: Humans possess a natural, endogenous and very complex cannabinoid system, which is responsible for various functions such as pain relief, appetite and neuronal connections.

What is the best way to take CBD ?

CBD drops vs. CBD capsules
CBD capsules in container & CBD oil
Abbildung 3: CBD-Aromakapseln (links) & CBD-Aromaöl von Canutree (rechts)

The plant extract can be consumed in many different ways. Whether in the good old DIY manner, as butter or cocoa (more on this later), as oil or as capsules. There are hardly any limits to the way it can be taken. However, each way of consumption promises a different intensity or duration of effect. The most uncomplicated way is to consume the vegetable oil Sub Lingual. To be more precise, this means that you simply drop a few drops under your tongue and let the oil work before swallowing it. This way of taking promises the fastest absorption, as the oil is absorbed directly through the sensitive mucous membrane of the mouth.

The advantage of our capsules is not only the vegan processing, but also the delayed absorption, because they are completely decomposed only after the stomach. This promises a long-lasting effect and also has a beneficial effect on the entire digestive tract.

Note: Capsules have a more targeted effect, especially in the case of gastrointestinal complaints; the pure oil in the form of drops, absorbed sub lingually, has a somewhat faster effect.

Tips on dosage:
Hemp oil containing cannabidiol has a different effect on everyone. Depending on the dosage, it can have different effects. If you take just a little bit of it, it can have a positive effect on your well-being and even help against listlessness, but without further strong effects. A very high dosage can cause physical fatigue. We recommend increasing the dose in small steps to find out your personal optimum. CBD can be taken 1-3 times a day depending on the desired effect. The highest blood values are measured about 1-4 hours after ingestion [4].

Cannabidiol für dein Haustier ?

Hund & CBD-Kapseln in einer Hand
Katze und CBD-Öl, das in einer Hand gehalten wird

The phytocannabinoid acts as an anti-epileptic drug not only in humans, but also in animals [5]. In addition, it is thought to have similar positive effects on the animal body as in humans. However, a distinction must be made here between the species of animal and its weight. Studies have also found positive effects on osteoarthritis in dogs [6] without any noticeable side effects. The same study suggests that the plant substance should be administered a maximum of twice a day, at a dose of 2mg/kg. We recommend starting with very low doses, similar to those given to humans, and increasing them gradually. We also advise to stop cannabidiol again and again to avoid possible accumulation effects. There is no known risk but as our four-legged best friends cannot speak to us directly, we want to be as careful as possible with them. In general, however, no direct toxicity to (pets) is known when used in careful dosage. However, further research is needed to find out more about other effects.

Sources

[1] Multiple mechanisms involved in the large-spectrum therapeutic potential of cannabidiol in psychiatric disorders

10.1098/rstb.2011.0389

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3481531/

[2] Cannabis and Neuropsychiatric Disorders: An Updated Review

PMID: 31867704

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31867704/

[3] The evidence for cannabidiol health benefits

https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/cannabidiol-cbd-what-we-know-and-what-we-dont-2018082414476

[4] Alexandra Greb & Birgit Puschner (2018) Cannabinoid treats as adjunctive therapy for pets: gaps in our knowledge, Toxicology Communications, 2:1, 10-14, DOI: 10.1080/24734306.2018.1434470

[5] Emil Samara, Meir Bialer, Raphael Mechoulam Pharmacokinetics of Cannabidiol in Dogs, dmd.aspetjournals.org@content163469

[6] Lauri-Jo Gamble, Jordyn M. Boesch, Christopher W. Frye, Wayne S. Schwark, Sabine Mann, Lisa Wolfe, Holly Brown, Erin S. Berthelsen and Joseph J. Wakshlag* Pharmacokinetics, Safety, and Clinical Efficacy of Cannabidiol Treatment in Osteoarthritic Dogs, doi: 10.3389/fvets.2018.00165

Figure 1: Photo from Aphiwat chuangchoem from Pexels

Figure 2: Photo from Mikita Karasiou from Unsplash

Figure 3: Canutree

Figure 4:Canutree

Related Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CBD - Dossier

Cannabidiol (CBD) | Das pflanzliche super Therapeutikum

Tafel mit Hanfblatt, Hanfsamen und der chemischen Formel für CBD

CBD – das pflanzliche super Therapeutikum

Cannabidiol ist voll im Trend angekommen. Doch was ist CBD genau? Welche Wirkung hat es und kannst du den Stoff auch deinem Haustier verabreichen? Ist CBD-Öl mit Hanf-Öl gleichzusetzen und warum sind CBD Tropfen eigentlich so beliebt? Antworten auf diese Fragen und auf noch viele Weitere findest du in unserem großen Dossier zu unserem Lieblings-Phytocannabinoid.

Was ist CBD?

Hand mit Handschuhe hält Hanfblatt in der Natur

Abbildung 1: Nutzhanf aus dem sekundäre Pflanzenstoffe wie CBD gewonnen werden

CBD oder Cannabidiol ist, neben THC, der am häufigsten vorkommende sekundäre Pflanzenstoff (oder Phytocannabinoid) der weiblichen Cannabisblüte. Dieser Stoff kann bis zu 40% der Cannabinoid-Konzentration ausmachen [1] und kommt sowohl in Nutzhanf als auch in „Marihuana“ vor, jedoch in völlig unterschiedlichen Konzentrationen.

Im Gegensatz zu THC, ist CBD nicht psychoaktiv [2], was die Vermarktung und den Verkauf des Stoffes, aber auch den alltäglichen Gebrauch, sowie die Forschung erleichtert. Gerade im Alltag wird der Stoff auf Grund seiner therapeutischen Wirkung gerne genutzt. Wie alle weiteren Cannabinoide kommt es in der Pflanze überwiegend als Säure vor. Aus diesem Grund wird es auch in Form von Öl (Fettsäuren) angeboten und verkauft.

Merke: CBD ist ein nicht psychoaktiver Pflanzenstoff, der einen therapeutisch hochwertigen Nutzen mit sich bringt und vollkommen legal ist.

Warum gerade Du CBD ausprobieren solltest

Wogegen hilft Cannabidiol hilft und ist CBD erlaubt ?

Frau macht Yogapose auf einer Insel, die in einem Bergsee ist
Abbildung 2: Die Förderung der inneren Balance von Körper & Geist ist nur eine von vielen Wirkungen, die die Anwendung von CBD mit sich bringen kann

CBD wird, vor allem im Netz, als Wunderwaffe gegen so ziemlich jedes Leiden beworben. Tatsächlich wirkt es unterstützend gegen eine Bandbreite von Alltagsleiden und schwerwiegenderen Krankheiten. Wissenschaftlich nachgewiesen sind seine anti-oxidativen Eigenschaften, wodurch es vor allem entzündungshemmend wirkt. Außerdem ist eine signifikant positive Wirkung im Zusammenhang mit infantiler Epilepsie sowie multipler Sklerose erkennbar [3].

Weitere positive Erfahrungsberichte deuten auf eine heilsame Wirkung bei Schlafstörungen, innerer Unruhe, Angstzuständen und Angespanntheit, Menstruationsbeschwerden, chronischen Schmerzen, Muskelkater und Arthritis. Um letztere Wirkungen wissenschaftlich zu bestätigen, müssen jedoch noch weitere Studien belegt werden. Glücklicherweise sind Studien mit CBD nicht so problematisch wie die mit dem berauschenden Cannabinoid THC, da ersteres nicht psychotrop ist – es macht nicht high – und somit für den alltagsgebrauch unbedenklich. Jedoch sollte für einen bedenkenlosen Konsum, bei allen Produkten darauf geachtet werden, dass der THC-Gehalt unter 0,2% liegt.

Merke: CBD hilft sehr vielseitig, sowohl bei Zuständen psychischer als auch physischer Natur. Dazu ist es vollkommen legal, da es bei Konsum keinen berauschenden Einfluss hat. CBD ist also weder gefährlich, noch eine Droge.

Wie wirkt CBD ?

CBD interagiert auf unterstützende Art und Weise, mit den im menschlichen Körper natürlich vorkommenden Cannabinoid-Rezeptoren CB1 und CB2. Diese Rezeptoren vermitteln normalerweise die Funktionen zur Steuerung der Nervenzellen im Gehirn als auch die Schmerzhemmung. Des Weiteren, ist bei gesteigerter Aktivität ein vermindertes Suchtverhalten feststellbar, wie auch eine Auswirkung auf den Appetit. Die Aktivierung des CB2-Rezeptors wird zudem mit einer positiven Wirkung auf den Verlauf der Alzheimer-Krankheit in Verbindung gebracht. Eine positive Korrelation mit Krebs ist wissenschaftlich nicht bekannt, jedoch berichten viele Krebspatienten auch hier über eine Linderung der Schmerzen.

Merke: Der Mensch besitzt ein natürliches, körpereigenes und sehr komplexes Cannabinoid-System, welches für verschiedene Funktionen wie Schmerzlinderung, Appetit und neuronale Verknüpfung zuständig ist.

Wie nimmt man CBD am besten ein ?

CBD-Tropfen vs. CBD-Kapseln
CBD-Kapseln in Behälter & CBD-Öl
Abbildung 3: CBD-Aromakapseln (links) & CBD-Aromaöl von Canutree (rechts)

Der Pflanzenextrakt kann auf vielseitige Weise konsumiert werden. Ob in guter alter DIY Manier, als Butter oder Kakao (dazu später mehr), als Öl oder als Kapseln. Der Art der Einnahme sind kaum Grenzen gesetzt. Jedoch verspricht jede Art des Konsums eine andere Intensität oder Wirkungsdauer. Der unkomplizierteste weg ist, das Pflanzenöl Sub Lingual zu sich zu nehmen. Genauer gesagt heißt das man tropft sich einfach einige wenige Tropfen unter die Zunge und lässt das Öl einwirken bevor man es herunterschluckt. Diese Art der Einnahme verspricht die schnellste Aufnahme, da das Öl direkt über die sensible Mundschleimhaut aufgenommen wird.

Der Vorteil unserer Kapseln liegt nicht nur in der veganen Verarbeitung, sondern auch in der verzögerten Aufnahme, denn diese werden erst nach dem Magen vollständig zersetzt. Das verspricht einen langanhaltenden Effekt und wirkt sich außerdem wohltuend auf den kompletten Verdauungstrakt aus.

Merke: Kapseln wirken, vor allem bei Magen-Darm-Beschwerden gezielter, das reine Öl in Form von Tropfen wirkt, Sub Lingual aufgenommen, dafür etwas schneller.

Tipps zur Dosierung:
Cannabidiolhaltiges Hanföl wirkt bei jedem unterschiedlich stark. Je nach Dosierung kann es unterschiedliche Effekte ausweisen. Nimmt man nur ein wenig davon ein so kann es sich positiv auf das Wohlbefinden auswirken und sogar gegen Lustlosigkeit wirken, ohne dass jedoch weitere starke Effekte auftreten. Bei einer sehr hohen Dosierung kann körperliche Müdigkeit hervorgerufen werden. Wir empfehlen die Dosis in kleinen Schritten zu erhöhen um das persönliche Optimum herauszufinden. CBD kann je nach gewünschtem Effekt 1-3 Mal am Tag eingenommen werden. Die höchsten Blutwerte werden ca 1-4 Stunden nach der Einnahme gemessen [4].

Cannabidiol für dein Haustier ?

Hund & CBD-Kapseln in einer Hand
Katze und CBD-Öl, das in einer Hand gehalten wird

Das Phytocannabinoid wirkt nicht nur beim Menschen, sondern auch in Tieren als Antiepileptikum [5]. Zudem werden ähnliche positive Effekte auf den tierischen Körper vermutet, wie beim Menschlichen auch. Jedoch ist hier zwischen der Spezies des Tieres und seinem Gewicht zu unterscheiden. Außerdem wurden in Studien positive Effekte auf Arthrose bei Hunden festgestellt [6] und das ohne erkennbare Nebenwirkungen. Die selbe Studie gibt an den Pflanzenstoff maximal 2mal täglich zu verabreichen, bei einer Dosis von 2mg/kg. Wir empfehlen ähnlich wie beim Menschen mit sehr geinrgen Dosen zu starten und diese schrittweise zu erhöhen. Wir raten auch dazu Cannabidiol immer wieder abzusetzen um mögliche Akkumulationseffekte zu vermeiden. Es ist jedoch noch kein Risiko bekannt aber weil unsere vierbeinigen besten Freunde nicht direkt mit uns sprechen können, möchten wir doch so vorsichtig wie möglich mit ihnen umgehen. Generell ist bei vorsichtiger Dosierung jedoch keine direkte Toxizität bei (Haus)Tieren bekannt. Um weitere Effekte zu ergründen bedarf es jedoch noch weiterer Forschung.

Quellen

[1] Multiple mechanisms involved in the large-spectrum therapeutic potential of cannabidiol in psychiatric disorders

10.1098/rstb.2011.0389

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3481531/

[2] Cannabis and Neuropsychiatric Disorders: An Updated Review

PMID: 31867704

https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/31867704/

[3] The evidence for cannabidiol health benefits

https://www.health.harvard.edu/blog/cannabidiol-cbd-what-we-know-and-what-we-dont-2018082414476

[4] Alexandra Greb & Birgit Puschner (2018) Cannabinoid treats as adjunctive therapy for pets: gaps in our knowledge, Toxicology Communications, 2:1, 10-14, DOI: 10.1080/24734306.2018.1434470

[5] Emil Samara, Meir Bialer, Raphael Mechoulam Pharmacokinetics of Cannabidiol in Dogs, dmd.aspetjournals.org@content163469

[6] Lauri-Jo Gamble, Jordyn M. Boesch, Christopher W. Frye, Wayne S. Schwark, Sabine Mann, Lisa Wolfe, Holly Brown, Erin S. Berthelsen and Joseph J. Wakshlag* Pharmacokinetics, Safety, and Clinical Efficacy of Cannabidiol Treatment in Osteoarthritic Dogs, doi: 10.3389/fvets.2018.00165

Abbildung 1: Foto von Aphiwat chuangchoem von Pexels

Abbildung 2: Foto von Mikita Karasiou von Unsplash

Abbildung 3: Canutree

Abbildung 4: Canutree

Related Posts

Schreiben Sie einen Kommentar

Ihre E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert.